

For Immediate Release: December 12, 2019 Tweet this Release: <u>www.airfarce.com/press</u>

## AIR FARCE NEW YEAR'S EVE FINAL FAREWELL, DECEMBER 30

## After nearly five decades, Canada's longest-running television comedy troupe takes a final CBC bow

Toronto (December 12, 2019) – After an illustrious 46-year run on radio and television, AIR FARCE, one of the most enduring and iconic homegrown comedy troupes in the country is winding down. AIR FARCE NEW YEARS EVE 2019, the troupe's final show, premieres Monday, December 30 at 8 p.m. (8:30 NT) on CBC and the free CBC Gem streaming service.



For **AIR FARCE** Photos and Bios, click <u>here</u>.

What began as a topical sketch comedy troupe in 1970 morphed into the **ROYAL CANADIAN AIR FARCE**, skewering Canadian politics, current affairs and pop culture in 1973, with founding members Don Ferguson, Luba Goy, the late Roger Abbott, John Morgan and Dave Broadfoot. The troupe grew into a successful franchise. A CBC radio series ran for 24 seasons, from 1973-97, spawning national concert tours, live stage productions, home audio and video releases, a book, and several television specials. A weekly CBC television series ran for 16 successful seasons, from 1993-2008. The annual New Year's Eve special launched in 1992 and has been a ratings hit throughout its run. **AIR FARCE** has received numerous awards and accolades. They won a JUNO Award for Best Comedy Album in 1979. They were the first Canadian inductees into the International Humour Hall of Fame in 1992. They received the Governor General's Performing Arts Award in 1998. In 2000, they received a star on Canada's Walk of Fame and at the Gemini Awards that year, won both the Earle Grey Award for their body of work in Canadian television and the viewer-voted People's Choice Award for favourite television program. In 2001, the troupe was inducted into the Canadian Comedy Hall of Fame.

**AIR FARCE NEW YEAR'S EVE**, one of the highest-rated entertainment specials in the country, celebrated its 25th anniversary broadcast in 2017. The annual one-hour New Year's Eve special has featured nearly 200 illustrious guests over the years, the very first being former troupe member Dave Broadfoot and Prime Minister Kim Campbell. Other guests have included: Prime Ministers Justin

Trudeau, Paul Martin, Jean Chrétien and Joe Clark; news anchors Peter Mansbridge, Lloyd Robertson and Lisa LaFlamme; TV personalities Mike Holmes, Ron MacLean and David Suzuki; comedians Brent Butt, Tommy Chong, Rick Mercer, Colin Mochrie, Russell Peters and Mary Walsh; actors Megan Follows, Graham Greene, Paul Gross, and Sheila McCarthy; musical guests the Barenaked Ladies, Jann Arden, Measha Brueggergosman, and Serena Ryder; athletes Kurt Browning, Mike "Pinball" Clemons, Doug Gilmour, Milos Raonic, Jamie Salé and Elvis Stojko; authors Margaret Atwood and David Chilton; filmmaker David Cronenberg; and astronaut Chris Hadfield, to name a few.

**AIR FARCE NEW YEAR'S EVE 2019** is a final farewell skewering the year's biggest news stories, pop culture, people, and events. It takes aim at climate change, Brexit, the Royal Family, Big Tech, and Western Canadian alienation, while taking on PM Justin Trudeau, NDP Leader Jagmeet Singh, Alberta Premier Jason Kenney, and Toronto's 'chair girl' Marcella Zoia. It features favourite highlights from past New Year's Eve specials and the weekly TV series, and pays tribute to former cast and late troupe founders John Morgan, Roger Abbott and Dave Broadfoot.

"AIR FARCE NEW YEAR'S EVE 2019 is a love letter to our fans," says founding member and Executive Producer Don Ferguson. "We target the year's biggest stories and share special moments from past episodes, but most important of all, we bid a final farewell to our viewers and express our heartfelt thanks."

"Thank you to Don, Luba and the entire Air Farce team for their longstanding contributions to Canadian comedy, and for creating a farewell New Year's Eve special that truly honours and celebrates the legacy they have created," said Sally Catto, General Manager, Programming, CBC.

**AIR FARCE NEW YEAR'S EVE 2019** stars the troupe's diverse, intergenerational cast, including: founding members **Ferguson** and **Goy**, and familiar faces **Jessica Holmes** (*The Communist's Daughter, The Holmes Show*), **Craig Lauzon** (*Fool Canada, The Ron James Show*), **Darryl Hinds** (*The Beaverton, Little Mosque on the Prairie*), **Chris Wilson** (*What Would Sal Do?, Meet the Family*) and **Isabel Kanaan** (*This Art Works!, Haunted or Hoax*).

The television special is written by headwriters **Kevin Wallis** and **Wayne Testori**, with **Rob Lindsay**. Director is **Rob Lindsay**.

AIR FARCE NEW YEAR'S EVE is produced by Don Ferguson Productions (DFP) in association with CBC. Executive Producer is Don Ferguson. Senior Producer is Lucy Stewart. Producers are Rob Lindsay, Wayne Testori, and Kevin Wallis.

For more details, visit:

WEBSITE: airfarce.com

FACEBOOK: Facebook.com/AirFarceCBC

**TWITTER:** @AirFarceCBC

- 30 -

## For interview requests:

Margaret Sirotich, AIR FARCE Publicist, 647-466-1746 or msirotich@sympatico.ca Elizabeth Reid, CBC Publicist, 416-205-2665 or elizabeth.reid@cbc.ca